Things I have Given Up for Lent: Ice Cream, Chocolate, and Now Plastic

I always struggle deciding what to give up for Lent. I go for the standard indulgences like ice cream, dessert, and
chocolate. Actually the other year instead of giving up something, I intended to floss everyday. Now that was suffering.

This year, I was inspired by this article to try something a little different and give up plastic. I told my mom this morning and of course her reaction was, “How are you going to do that?” Which of course made me think that there have to be some guidelines to this type of Lenten sacrifice.

Plastic is in basically everything, so I am not going to give up everything. I am going to give up the plastic that would generally be tossed in the recycling bin or thrown out on a daily basis.

Some Examples:

  • No straws or lids
  • No Ziploc bags (which isn’t a huge worry because I love my Snack Taxis)
  • No plastic bags from the grocery store (I usually have a reusable bag in my purse anyway)
  • No carryout containers from restaurants (Must.Remember.To.Bring.My.Own.)
  • I am sure I will come across more ways

The first day of Lent is Wednesday, February 10th. I have a little less than a week to really figure this out.

I am going to attempt to keep track of every time where I get the option to refuse plastic and what my alternatives were, as well as the things I will have to go without because they will be in plastic. That will be fun.

Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Let me know!

 

 

Leave a Reply

