I Am Emotionally Attached to My T-Shirts, Are You?

I am betting right now that you have an exorbitant amount of t-shirts. The are stuffed in a number of places throughout your room. They are under your bed, in your closet, and in your dresser. Maybe you even have some in a bag in the basement because you just can’t seem to part with them. When I moved to DC for a semester in college, I remember having a hard time deciding which 6 shirts I should bring with, then I somehow lost one, and I was weirdly upset about it.

You have collected t-shirts since you joined your first team sport in Kindergarten (that would be T-ball for me, see below).

t ball

Yup, this is from t-ball in the 90’s. Still have it. Under my bed.

You have shirts from school clubs, events, volunteering, and grabbing one shot from a t-shirt gun at a college basketball game. We clamor and fight over a free t-shirt that usually ends up being an XL and pretty ugly. Have you ever actually ended up wearing that t-shirt you fought so hard for? Probably not. If I have not donated that shirt, I might have ended up wearing it to bed.

Along with the random ones we have acquired over the years, there are ones that hold a special place in our hearts. We just cannot give them up. They hold memories and feelings you cannot just toss in the donation pile.

One way I have calmed the anxiety of purging t-shirts I am emotionally attached to, is by having my shirts made into the t-shirt quilt. That way I still get to keep those memories and I get to be snuggled up in them. It is even better than wearing them. I highly recommend a t-shirt quilt/blanket for anyone who has trouble letting go. I have had 2 made now. One was all my t-shirts up through high school and the second that was just finished was all my college shirts.

birthday gift

My first t-shirt blanket was a gift for my 20th birthday. It is gigantic!

tshirt blanket

My second was a Christmas present. Went for a little smaller one this time!

Obviously these are not all the t-shirts I own. I just picked special ones that fit well together. To get your shirts made into a blanket:

  • Find some one on Etsy
  • Go to a local craft fair, there usually is at least one booth dedicated to t-shirt quilts
  • Ask around! I had a local woman do it and I am so pleased that I got to support her as well as not have to ship my t-shirts somewhere. Additionally, I got to be a part of the process in person. We discussed what I was looking for, color schemes, fabrics, etc.

So, what other ways can you deal with the t-shirts you are emotionally attached to?

7 comments

  1. This is a great idea. I actually made one for my son with all of his old t-shirts that were special to him. I want to make one now out of old t-shirts from bicycle rides I have done.

    Like

    1. I wish I could make them myself, but then I probably would have 100 t-shirt blankets! Just as I was writing this blog, I noticed I definitely have enough dance t-shirts for another one. Maybe next year!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

