How Long Will It Take to Receive My Blue Cart? Part 2

See Part 1 of this escapade here: How Long Will It Take To Receive My Blue Cart? Part 1

Thursday, May 5th, 2016

32 days after it was submitted, I received an email from the City Council Ward team that they have resolved my “recycling services” request.

I went to take a peek at where our garbage cans are kept and saw no blue cart. Womp Womp.

Tuesday, May 17th, 2016

I have been checking periodically to see if a blue cart magically appeared and it had not. Basically, I was giving the City the benefit of the doubt. Things take forever and I know that. At this point, it had been well over the “at least five weeks” I was told, so I gave my alderman’s office a call.

They did apologize that I have not received my cart yet, and said they will contact the City again about it. A new service request was submitted. The office said if I did not get it by next Monday, I should call back.

This same day, I saw a segment on WGN news about where Chicago’s recycling goes.

Monday, May 23rd, 2016

I was supposed to get my cart by now. No cart. I will be calling the office back tomorrow.

Tuesday, May 24th, 2016 

Just called the office. Since the service request from last week is still open, they cannot start another one. I was told that my request number will be given to the ward superintendent to find out what is up. The hold up could be that there are a lot of requests for carts and there is a backlog, or the truck could be coming any day now.  It was mentioned again that it may take 5-6 weeks. Awesome.

Either way, I did not get a real response on when I will get it. I left my email and phone number with them to reach out to me if they find out a more specific timeline.

Wednesday, May 25th, 2016

I have been waiting for 52 days or over 7 weeks now.

Stay tuned for part 3 of this experience…

 

 

 

7 comments

  1. Oh man, what a bummer! In the meantime, maybe you could take smaller amounts of recycling to your office or local Whole Foods, which recycles. Best of luck with this crazy mess!

    Like

  2. don’t give up! i think it’s great you are documenting this too – exposing how bureaucracy or negligence impedes sustainability is important. after all, someone has to be accountable for this..
    anyway, curious to hear when you’ll get it, the suspense increases.. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

