Buying Local Food: Week 1

Our own local food challenge started over the weekend. While we still have non-local food in our house, anything that we purchase from now on should be from within our radius.

For instance, right now I am snacking on some Wheat Thins, and once they are gone, they will be gone. Goodbye, my sweet, crunchy snacks.

GCM1

We hit the ground running Saturday morning at Green City Market with an idea of what we needed. After an initial lap of checking out what vendors were there and what was available, we narrowed down what we were going to purchase based on what we already had at home.

GCM2

We purchased:

  • Eggs
  • Spinach
  • Spring Onions
  • Ramps
  • Bread
  • Pork Country Sausage
  • Asparagus
  • Potatoes

For a grand total of $42.00….

We obviously have other food in the fridge to supplement our farmers market purchases, so do not think that is all we are eating for the week.

Stay tuned!

5 comments

  1. You’ve inspired me to start checking around my area for locally grown/sourced foods. I found an Amish store nearby with a great selection of home grown/prepped gluten-free foods (hello allergies). I love their culture, so I’m very excited to support them! Our city’s famer’s market starts this Saturday, so I’m hoping to get some great, fresh food and support our local farmers, too! πŸ˜€ Thanks for posting this update – it reminded me to keep digging up more opportunities to buy local, rather than chain. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I can’t wait until our local farmer’s market starts up again. Sadly, not until JUNE! There are not a lot of local options at this time of year since our growing season is so dang short. Your finds are looking good πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I focus on local as much as possible and it’s been a lovely surprise and a good adventure. Locally we produce some great things. You have made me want to be even more thorough in my approach. Right now it’s just been consciousness raising πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

