The End of An Era: Goodbye Gomez

Not too long ago I posted about how I still drove the same car that I have had since high school.

Gomez2

My beloved 1998 Toyota Rav4, Gomez, with 197,000 miles on it

Our bond is just like the Liberty Mutual Insurance “Brad” commercial, except replace 4 years with 11, Brad with Gomez, and I did not total my car.

 

But really, nothing can replace Gomez. We legitimately have been through everything together.

I love my car so much that I am willing to share extremely embarrassing photos and memories of myself with Gomez through the years.

A Look Back

 

Gomez 2006 3

The first day of junior year of high school when I just got Gomez, 2006

 

Driving to Friday night high school football games.

 

Senior Year Gomez

Football game Friday

 

Jamming to burned CDs filled with super angsty teenage love songs.

 

Gomez 2007

The first day of senior year with Gomez in the background, 2007.

 

Still driving to school even though I tore ligaments in my right ankle and was wearing a boot, which I removed to drive.

Piling as many people as there were seatbelts inside since I was one of the first to get my license. 

 

 

Chauffeuring my brother & his friends around when he came home from college.

Trekking down to Bloomington, IN  for 5 years worth of trips back and forth.

 

Gomez 2010

Packed and ready for the drive to start Junior year of college, 2010

 

Filling Gomez to the brim with basically my entire life as I moved from house to house each year.

 

Gomez 2011

Off to senior year of college, 2011

Transporting bikes and equipment to the Little 500 track.

Also transporting multiple Redsteppers (college dance team) to the football stadium. 

 

Gomez 2013

Moving out of college for the last time, 2013

 

Hauling furniture and vintage pieces I’d find at garage sales.

 

Gomez 2014

In storage, waiting for me while I lived in Washington, DC, 2014

 

It breaks my heart to say that Gomez is up for sale (on Craigslist of course). I now drive a slightly newer Rav4, but it is definitely not the same.

We had a great run and I will never forget my first car.

Whoever buys you is going to get a car that is well-loved.

 

Leave a Reply

