Wearing Thrift for A Black Tie Wedding

We went to a wedding this weekend and it reminded me of the time I previously wore a thrift store dress to a black tie wedding.

Intrigued? Read on.


Before last summer, I had never been to a black tie wedding before. Fancy cocktail dress, long gown, what does one wear?

After some soul searching on the internet and perusing Rent the Runway, I figured I was just going to wear one of the five bridesmaids dresses I had acquired over the last few years.

The problem was most of those dresses looked very much like bridesmaid dresses and I usually don’t want to look like a bridesmaid in a wedding where I am not one (But that’s just me).

Not having any idea what I was going to wear, I walked into a second-hand shop near home to look around. Lo, and behold, on the mannequin at the front of the store was a hot pink Kate Spade beauty!

WITH THE

TAGS STILL ON! 

Before I got all excited, I had to remember the real drawback of shopping at second-hand stores. The item you find is only in that one size. Unfortunately, you cannot ask an employee to go find you a size small in the back, because there is not one.

I asked for the size of the dress and held my breath. It was a size that I could wear! I tried it on and it was love at first sight.

beth-and-andrews-wedding-2

K insisted on being cropped out of the picture

Everyone loved the dress and I felt super cool telling people I got it at a resale shop that supports a charity. 🙂

 

 

Leave a comment